Leicester City
Game Details
Manchester United
Game Details

Spain to continue UEFA Super Cup dominance

UEFA Super Cup

Ronaldo set for Man United reunion

Five Aside

Real Madrid vs. Atletico Madrid continues La Liga's UEFA Super Cup dominance

Spain's UEFA Super Cup dominance will continue on Wednesday evening in Tallinn as the country are guaranteed a ninth victory from the past 10 years.

Champions League winners Real Madrid face Europa League victors Atletico Madrid in the Estonian capital, and Los Blancos will go level with Barcelona on a record five successes in the competition if they win.

Since 2008, a La Liga side has won the Champions League on seven occasions -- while they have also boasted Europa League winners six times over the past decade, which means there has only been one UEFA Super Cup final without a Spanish club in that time: Bayern Munich vs. Chelsea in 2013 as Pep Guardiola won his first trophy as Bayern boss 5-4 on penalties after a 2-2 draw.

Here is a look back at Spain's dominance of the Super Cup over the past 10 years.

2009: Barcelona 1-0 Shakhtar Donetsk (AET)

Guardiola's exhilarating Barcelona side made it five major trophies out of a possible five through Pedro's 115th-minute winner. They would make it a world record six by adding the FIFA Club World Cup in December.

2010: Inter Milan 0-2 Atletico Madrid

Without Jose Mourinho, the Treble-winners were humbled in Monaco thanks to goals from Jose Antonio Reyes and Sergio Aguero.

2011: Barcelona 2-0 Porto

Lionel Messi and Cesc Fabregas scored for a Barcelona side which looked prime to dominate -- only for Guardiola to end his four-year spell as manager at the end of the season.

2012: Chelsea 1-4 Atletico Madrid

Radamel Falcao produced a masterclass with a hat trick as the Europa League winners destroyed the Blues in their first UEFA Super Cup appearance since 1998.

2014: Real Madrid 2-0 Sevilla

This was Real Madrid's first appearance in this competition in 12 years and a Cristiano Ronaldo double led them to victory in the first of three successive all-Spanish affairs.

2015: Barcelona 5-4 Sevilla (AET)

Luis Enrique led the Blaugrana to a thrilling victory in Tbilisi with Pedro once again scoring a winner in the 115th-minute -- just days before completing a move to Chelsea.

2016: Real Madrid 3-2 Sevilla (AET)

Dani Carvajal scored a 119th-minute winner as Sevilla made it three successive defeats. Sergio Ramos had earlier taken the tie to extra-time with a stoppage time leveller.

2017: Real Madrid 2-1 Manchester United

Casemiro's opener and Isco's sublime second clinched another trophy for Zinedine Zidane, despite Romelu Lukaku scoring his first competitive goal for United just past the hour mark.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.